Thursday, May 8, 2008

SPDC Millitary Junta's Misinformation in Newpaper

SPDC Millitary JUNTA misinformation to the Burmese people that cyclone nargis wouldn't hit Burma . Read in Burmese!

Cyclone surges explained!

CNN's Bonnie Schneider explains what caused the surges that left areas of Myanmar submerged.

Tropical cyclone Nargis

Tropical cyclone Nargis made landfall as a category four (4) cyclone west-southwest of the city of Yangon, Myanmar at approximately 16:00 local time (12:00 UCT) on 2 May 2008. According to local sources, the cyclone with winds exceeding 190 km/hr ripped through the sprawling river delta city for more than ten hours from Friday night until Saturday noon, tearing off roofs, uprooting trees and destroying power lines.
Despite the cyclone reducing in strength while moving inland, reports indicate widespread wind damage to housing, vegetation and small scale infrastructure in its path. Power lines and telecommunication systems have also been badly affected.

At least 243 people are reported killed with figures expected to rise in the coming days and thousands of buildings have also been damaged, according to the state television service. BBC reports state officials have begun the distribution of food and oil. With debris blocking many of the roads and transport routes, it is difficult to obtain information on the true extent of the damage. Meanwhile, there are concerns with regard to access to safe drinking water, diesel and adequate food supplies.
Within Yangon itself, many homes are left without roofs while smaller less solidly constructed homes have been destroyed. A state of emergency has been declared in five regions: the city of Yangon, Ayeyarwady, Pegu and the states of Karen and Mon. All flights into Yangon have been cancelled until further notice.

Reports also indicate that 95 per cent of homes have been destroyed in villages along the south coast of the delta region. Among the seriously affected areas in the Ayeyarwady division are: Maubin, Nga Pu Baw, Haing Gyi and Labutta. In the Yangon division, affected areas include Dahyan, Kawmu, Yankin, Shwedidah, Hlai Ngtaya and Daw Bin.